Founded in 1558, Friedrich Schiller University Jena (Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena) has 21,000 students in more than ten different faculties and is one of the city’s jewels. Students at FSU Jena and the University of Applied Sciences make up a quarter of all Jena residents. Therefore, it is quite appropriate to say: “There is no University in Jena, all Jena is a University!” The wide range of study opportunities at the Classical University of Thuringia shapes not only his appearance but also his attitude: to act without knowing the boundaries – between disciplines and abroad.

Friedrich Schiller University is also known internationally: it is a member of many important communities, such as the Coimbra Group, and collaborates with more than 100 universities or academic institutions around the world. This facilitates a wide exchange of students and teachers with 300 European partners. In 2009, Jena won the title of “City of Science” in Germany.

Funded by the Erasmus + programme of the European Union